Diecast Crazy Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
JUST A RACING FAN...
3,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone please explain this car for me? I have been collecting for over 10+ years of Gordon cars and this car still just baffles me? What is the significance of this car and Jeff Gordon and what is up with the cost? All these cars are going for this much and MORE still to this day 12 years later? What gives?

·
Premium Member
370 Posts
probably just a hard to find Jeff Gordon diecast. It sure is ugly. I wouldn't pay anywhere near that price LoL

·
Premium Member
2,345 Posts
It was kind of an incentive piece made for the distributors back in 2000. My distributor at the time only charged me $100 wholesale for the 1 he could get for me. They made it sound like something super special, and I guess when they had 4000+ "dealers" back then a run of 1,800 was super low. I heard a rumor once that they had planned to do a different driver every year but I dont know if that is anything more than a rumor. Aside from that, I dont know why they put Gordon's name on it, I just know that they 1 I bought I kept for myself and still have it.

·
JUST A RACING FAN...
3,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, so this explains a lot. There is no signifance to Gordon and this car they just throw the name out there to sell! Got it. This is similar to the Brickyard car they made for Gordon. I found it at Bristol a couple years ago and asked the seller and he said he didn't know. I said, well he didn't win in 2000? So of course I had to buy it.

·
Registered
502 Posts