Diecast Crazy Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Jeff Gordon Fan
25,901 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
NASCAR Sprint Cup Series News: Jeff Gordon Endures Back Pain In Coke 600 - MRN.com

Jeff Gordon, climbing into his car before Sunday's Coca-Cola 600, endured back pain to finish seventh. (Photo: Getty Images)
Share on facebook Share on twitter Share on print More Sharing Services

Print
Email

CONCORD, N.C. - For all that Jeff Gordon has done in his career and this season with leading the points and winning a race, he still felt he needed to earn his team’s respect.
“I don’t know if they necessarily think that I’m that tough,’’ said Gordon, who once won a Southern 500 after puking in the car. “I think they think I’m a good racecar driver and give them good feedback. I don’t know if they knew how tough I was or how committed I was to what they do.’’
He showed his team Sunday withstanding back pain to finish seventh in in the Coca-Cola 600 and extend his streak of consecutive starts to 737 races, longest among active drivers.
Crew chief Chad Knaus, a member of Gordon’s crew in the 1990s, said what Gordon endured Sunday will resonate with his team.
“When a crew guy sees something like that, it automatically knocks you to the next level,’’ Knaus said. “That level of respect that you have for somebody when you’re ingrained with them and you see the pain and the desire and what it is they put into it, you get it. I think his guys - not that they didn’t respect him before - have a new appreciation of what it is he does.’’
Saturday morning, there were questions of if Gordon would race in the 600. He climbed out of his car after 11 laps in Saturday morning’s practice session and didn’t practice in the afternoon.
“The toughest thing was getting out (Saturday), knowing the kind of pain I was in, knowing that if I stayed in (the car), I was only going to do myself more harm,’’ Gordon said. “That was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.’’