Diecast Crazy Forums banner

Kyle Busch tops brother Kurt, wins pole at Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500

798 Views 4 Replies 2 Participants Last post by  Dale3DaleJr88

By Jared Turner

The good news just keeps coming for Joe Gibbs Racing.
Five days after JGR won the Daytona 500 with Denny Hamlin and placed three drivers in the top five, the Toyota organization kept the pressure on Friday at Atlanta Motor Speedway as Kyle Busch captured the pole for Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 (FOX, 12:30 p.m. ET).
Kyle’s older brother, Kurt, will start on the outside of Row 1 in his Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet, followed in the top five by Jamie McMurray, Trevor Bayne and Ryan Newman.
Kyle Busch’s pole speed was 191.668 mph -- just a tad faster than brother Kurt’s top lap of 191.582.
“I hope after 500 miles, we can be the guy in Victory Lane, and he’ll be the guy saying, ‘I wish we had a little bit more,' ” Kurt said.
Just missing the cut for the final, 12-driver round was Daytona 500 winner Hamlin.
Hamlin will start 13th in his No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.
Also failing to make the third and final round was Dale Earnhardt Jr. (17th), Brad Keselowski (18th) and Jimmie Johnson (20th). Danica Patrick (26th) and Joey Logano (27th) missed the second round, failing to get into the top 24.
All 39 drivers who made qualifying attempts will compete in Sunday’s race, which marks the debut of the Sprint Cup Series’ new low-downforce aerodynamic package for 2016.

118Kyle Busch
will start 39th
M&M's 75191.66828.925Leader
241Kurt Busch
Monster Energy / Haas Automation191.58228.938--0.013
31Jamie McMurray
46Trevor Bayne
Advocare Ford Fusion189.98729.181--0.256
531Ryan Newman
617Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Ford EcoBoost Ford Fusion189.86329.200--0.275
74Kevin Harvick
Jimmy John's189.77929.213--0.288
819Carl Edwards
93Austin Dillon
1078Martin Truex Jr
Furniture Row189.36429.277--0.352
1144Brian Scott
Twisted Tea188.59129.397--0.472
125Kasey Kahne
1311Denny Hamlin
FedEx Ground190.38529.120--0.195
1420Matt Kenseth
Dollar General190.26029.139--0.214
1516Greg Biffle
Roush Performance Ford Fusion190.18229.151--0.226
1613Casey Mears
1788Dale Earnhardt Jr
182Brad Keselowski
1914Ty Dillon
Bass Pro Shops Tracker Boats189.13829.312--0.387
2048Jimmie Johnson
2142Kyle Larson
2227Paul Menard
Valvoline / Menards188.71329.378--0.453
2347AJ Allmendinger
Kroger/Scott Products188.63629.390--0.465
2421Ryan Blaney
Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire + Auto Center187.44929.576--0.651
2524Chase Elliott
NAPA Auto Parts189.39029.273--0.348
2610Danica Patrick
Aspen Dental189.07929.321--0.396
2722Joey Logano
Shell Pennzoil189.04129.327--0.402
2843Aric Almirola
2915Clint Bowyer
3038Landon Cassill
FR8 Auctions187.83729.515--0.590
317Regan Smith
Nikko / RC ToyState Chevrolet187.39229.585--0.660
3234Chris Buescher
CSX – Play it Safe187.12029.628--0.703
3395Michael McDowell
Thrivent Financial185.90329.822--0.897
3423David Ragan
Dr. Pepper185.77829.842--0.917
3546Michael Annett
Pilot Flying J185.61729.868--0.943
3683Matt DiBenedetto
Sewanee, The University of the South / ZAK Products185.49929.887--0.962
3798Cole Whitt
Tweaker Energy Shot184.03930.124--1.199
3830Josh Wise
Curtis Key Plumbing183.82030.160--1.235
3932Jeffrey Earnhardt
Can - Am180.76930.669--1.744
See less See more
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
I just received an alert that Kyle Busch has been stripped of the pole...
  • Like
Reactions: 1


Kyle Busch topped Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Pole Award qualifying Friday evening at Atlanta Motor Speedway, but it will be his brother, Kurt, who will start from the pole position in Sunday's Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 (1 p.m. ET, FOX, PRN).
The reigning champion notched the best speed in the final round of qualifying at 191.668 mph, but it was announced around 7:15 p.m. ET that his No. 18 Toyota Camry had failed post-qualifying inspection, disallowing his speed. He will now start 39th.
By virtue of "Rowdy's" disqualification, the elder Busch, Kurt, will slide over to the pole position with the next best speed of 191.582 mph.
Kurt will be joined on the front row by Jamie McMurray, who scored a best speed of 190.130 mph.
Trevor Bayne (189.987 mph), Ryan Newman (189.961 mph) and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (189.863 mph) rounded out the top five fastest in qualifying.
Notable drivers who failed to make the final round of 12 were Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, Dale Earnhardt Jr., six-time champion Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Larson, who topped the sole practice session of the day.
Notable names who failed to move on on after the first round narrowed the field to 24 were Georgia native Chase Elliott, Joey Logano and Danica Patrick .

141Kurt Busch
Monster Energy / Haas Automation191.58228.938Leader
21Jamie McMurray
36Trevor Bayne
Advocare Ford Fusion189.98729.181--0.243
431Ryan Newman
517Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Ford EcoBoost Ford Fusion189.86329.200--0.262
64Kevin Harvick
Jimmy John's189.77929.213--0.275
719Carl Edwards
83Austin Dillon
978Martin Truex Jr
Furniture Row189.36429.277--0.339
1044Brian Scott
Twisted Tea188.59129.397--0.459
115Kasey Kahne
1211Denny Hamlin
FedEx Ground190.38529.120--0.182
1320Matt Kenseth
Dollar General190.26029.139--0.201
1416Greg Biffle
Roush Performance Ford Fusion190.18229.151--0.213
1513Casey Mears
1688Dale Earnhardt Jr
172Brad Keselowski
1814Ty Dillon
Bass Pro Shops Tracker Boats189.13829.312--0.374
1948Jimmie Johnson
2042Kyle Larson
2127Paul Menard
Valvoline / Menards188.71329.378--0.440
2247AJ Allmendinger
Kroger/Scott Products188.63629.390--0.452
2321Ryan Blaney
Motorcraft / Quick Lane Tire + Auto Center187.44929.576--0.638
2424Chase Elliott
NAPA Auto Parts189.39029.273--0.335
2510Danica Patrick
Aspen Dental189.07929.321--0.383
2622Joey Logano
Shell Pennzoil189.04129.327--0.389
2743Aric Almirola
2815Clint Bowyer
2938Landon Cassill
FR8 Auctions187.83729.515--0.577
307Regan Smith
Nikko / RC ToyState Chevrolet187.39229.585--0.647
3134Chris Buescher
CSX – Play it Safe187.12029.628--0.690
3295Michael McDowell
Thrivent Financial185.90329.822--0.884
3323David Ragan
Dr. Pepper185.77829.842--0.904
3446Michael Annett
Pilot Flying J185.61729.868--0.930
3583Matt DiBenedetto
Sewanee, The University of the South / ZAK Products185.49929.887--0.949
3698Cole Whitt
Tweaker Energy Shot184.03930.124--1.186
3730Josh Wise
Curtis Key Plumbing183.82030.160--1.222
3832Jeffrey Earnhardt
Can - Am180.76930.669--1.731
3918Kyle Busch
M&M's 750.0000.000-28.938

Kurt Busch on Atlanta pole after Kyle disqualified | NASCAR.com
See less See more
I heard some went askew with the car...Lol
Pit Stall Selections:

The selections of pit stalls for the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 Sprint Cup Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway have been made.
Pole sitter #41-Kurt Busch chose pit stall 3 [the first pit stall available - 1 & 2 are not being used at Atlanta].
Outside pole sitter #1-McMurray took the 43rd and final pit stall.
#6-Bayne, who starts 3rd took the 11th pit stall, with an opening behind it.

See less See more
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.