Diecast Crazy Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Which diecast version do you folks prefer? I have several Elites and I'm impressed with the attention to detail. I just received my first Team Caliber Owners Series, it's the 1/24 Dave Blaney #22 CAT GET 2006 Dodge Charger. I have to say that I'm even a little more impressed with the detail on the Owners Series based just on this model. I really like the fact that you can take the car shell and mount it on four posts over the roll cage for display purposes. Anyway, what is/was the deal with Team Caliber, they don't seem to have nearly as many diecasts out there as Motorsports Authentics? Why is that?

I'm still very new to diecast collecting, obviously from my questions, so any thought would be appreciated guys.

·
#1 "BLANIAC"
20,242 Posts
In 06' That was the first year that the body was removable from the chassis on a TC Owners 1/24. It could be done on the 1/64 Owners for a few years before that. I always liked the Owners cars better cause they were almost the same, and were a little cheaper. I always dispised the boxes though. They were a pain in the ass, there is no nice way to say it.
My all time favorite cars though were the TC First Choice cars. They were incredible, but TC didn't have any drivers except Roush guys and a few others, so it was just a matter of time until they went under. Action bought them, then changed their name to Motorsports Authentics.
TC has re-incarnated as CFS, and I believe in time (if they survive) the quality will be very good, but they will die from the same fate. No drivers. It's a shame, we need compitition in die-cast. I was always a big fan of the RC Authentics also. Except for the square profile on the tires, they were some nice cars also and had some neat added features like extra wheels and tires, jacks, body templates and car covers. They got pushed right outta NASCAR and now are mainly in NHRA and 1/18 muscle cars.

·