Diecast Crazy Forums banner

USAC Team Owner Ron Chaffin Dies

254 Views 0 Replies 1 Participant Last post by  Dale3DaleJr88

MADERA, Calif. – West Coast sprint car team owner Ron Chaffin, who has won six AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series championships as a team owner, died Saturday. He was 77 years old.
Chaffin’s red No. 50 has been prolific over the years, winning 66 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series features and six championships (2005 and 2008-’12) since the series inception in 2004 with drivers Damion Gardner and Mike Spencer behind the wheel. In addition, Ron Chaffin-owned cars, along with crew chief Bruce Bromme Jr. won eight SCRA owner titles (1995-’00, ’02-’03). Drivers Lealand McSpadden (1995) and Richard Griffin (1998-’00, ’02-’03) won SCRA driver championships in Chaffin cars.
Chaffin’s car also made a big splash in the Midwest scene as well. In 1997, with Griffin at the wheel, Chaffin’s car was fast qualifier in all six races the car appeared in during Indiana Sprint Week. In 2000, Griffin won his only USAC National Sprint Car Series feature during a preliminary night for the Terre Haute National Open at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.
Among the team’s five USAC National wins was Mike Spencer’s triumph during the Budweiser Oval Nationals in 2012.

See less See more
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.