Diecast Crazy Forums banner

WTCC reveals 20-car entry list for 2016

342 Views 0 Replies 1 Participant Last post by  Dale3DaleJr88

The World Touring Car Championship has released the 20-car entry list for the 2016 season during a press launch at the Vallelunga circuit in Italy.

Two-time manufacturers' champion Citroen will field five cars in total, three of them with privateer team Sebastien Loeb Racing.
Honda will be represented by six cars, three run by the JAS factory team, and three by independents, while Volvo Polestar will run two S60s, Lada will run their three Vestas, and the grid will completed by four privateer Chevrolets.
The new announcements include key changes with the Honda privateers, with Zengo Motorsport planning to run two Civic WTCCs this season, stepping up for the one it's run for Norbert Michelisz for the past three years.
The team's drivers will be announced at a later date, but is expected to be two Hungarians from Zengo's young driver programme, which has had a number of drivers in ETCC and TCR in the past two years.
Swedish team Nika Racing is also on the entry list, following up its partial programme with the car last year. The team is going to enter 21-year-old Swede John Bryant-Meisner in its Honda Civic.
Bryant-Meisner raced in the Asian Le Mans Series last season, and has experience in GP3 and Formula 3, but will be trying his hand at touring cars for the first time.
Rene Munnich, meanwhile, will be back behind the wheel of his Chevrolet Cruze. The German was testing at the circuit earlier in the day, and will contest a partial programme due to clashes with his World Rallycross Championship campaign.
Campos Racing will field two Chevrolet Cruzes this year, with John Filippi again racing for the team, while the team's second driver is still to be announced.
The factory line-ups for 2016 have all been confirmed earlier.
Neil Hudson / TouringCarTimes

Gabriele Tarquini
Lada Sport RosneftLada Vesta
Tom Chilton
Sebastien Loeb RacingCitroen C-Elysee
Tom Coronel
ROAL MotorsportChevrolet RML Cruze TC1
Norbert Michelisz
Honda Racing Team JASHonda Civic
Hugo Valente
Lada Sport RosneftLada Vesta
Nicky Catsburg
Lada Sport RosneftLada Vesta
Gregoire Demoustier
Sebastien Loeb RacingCitroen C-Elysee
Rob Huff
Castrol HondaHonda Civic
Tiago Monteiro
Castrol HondaHonda Civic
Mehdi Bennani
Sébastien Loeb RacingCitroen C-Elysee
John Filippi
Campos RacingChevrolet RML Cruze TC1
Jose Maria Lopez
Citroen RacingCitroen C-Elysee
Fredrik Ekblom
Polestar Cyan RacingVolvo S60 TC1
Thed Bjork
Polestar Cyan RacingVolvo S60 TC1
Yvan Muller
Citroen RacingCitroen C-Elysee
Rene Munnich
Munnich MotorsportChevrolet RML Cruze TC1
John Bryant-Meisner
Nika RacingHonda Civic
TBATBACampos RacingChevrolet RML Cruze TC1
TBATBAZengo MotorsportHonda Civic
TBATBAZengo MotorsportHonda Civic

WTCC reveals 20-car entry list for 2016
See less See more
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.